SUPERNOVA returns for the fourth consecutive year to the Denver Theatre District in 2019, with exciting updates for festival programming and progressive community collaborations. The Festival boasts an expansive lineup of outdoor screens, with primary programs and the competition showcase presented simultaneously on a prominent wide-screen LED at the corner of 14th and Champa, a second public screen located on the 16th and Champa Pedestrian Mall at 16th and Champa, our temporary LED screen installed within the Denver Performing Arts Complex grand open-air Galleria, complete with seating and an outdoor bar, and for the first time ever on the massive ProMedica Screen located in Toledo, Ohio, in conjunction with their Annual Momentum Festival taking place the same weekend.

Additional animations are presented on a series of 4 well-placed Satellite screens throughout the day. And new for 2019, SUPERNOVA plans to “Go Viral” with the support of select screen hosts in the Denver community displaying SUPERNOVA content to further widen the public’s interaction with Digital Motion-Art.

SUPERNOVA offers substantial prize money to attract the best talent from around the world, with a proven track record that defines the vanguard of artists working in digital motion-art today. In 2019 SUPERNOVA will be more exciting than ever, dedicating over twice the previous levels of award money for artists selected to compete in the competition program, and initiating a new audience award supported by an even deeper network of venues and screen hosts across the community.

Supernova is no longer accepting submissions for the 2019 Festival.


DPAC + 14th & Champa + 16th & Champa + Toledo Momentum Festival LED SCREENS


SUPERNOVA will present a selection of works for an expanded competition program, to be shown on three premier public screens with sound, and select interior locations within Denver. Works considered for the annual competition are from a variety of different genres and geared towards advanced artist-driven works.

This is the first year that SUPERNOVA implements an artist stipend for accepted works, further distinguishing the festival as one in full support of artists. In addition, selected entires will compete for three cash prizes in 2019 including a $1,000 Jurors award, a $1,000 Director’s choice award and for the first time an audience award of amount TBD.

In addition to showcasing this year’s competition selections, Toledo’s ProMedica Screen situated at the heart of the annual Momentum Festival, will also feature the best of past Supernova Festival animations as well as a survey of digital animation by artists working within the Great Lakes Region, curated by Ohio professor and Digerati collaborator Barry Whittaker.


View the prize winning shorts from SUPERNOVA 2018 online

1st Prize - Jeron Braxton - Octane

2nd Prize - Sean Capone - The Sky Report

3rd Prize - Ryan Wurst - Don’t Make Out

Honorable Mention - John Butler - The Dependency Loop

Honorable Mention - Eli Ayres - Ackerman - In Flux


DPAC + 14th & Champa + 16th & Champa LED SCREENS

Supernova will present additional programs derived from submissions for the festival. Stay tuned for the schedule to be presented here sometime in August or early September.


Supernova partners for the first time with Alamo Drafthouse Cinema’s Sloan’s Lake location in Denver for a program that will feature works with mature themes that can’t typically be presented in our public forums. This program will screen on Thursday September 19th at 7:00pm, artists may submit works through Film Freeway for consideration by special guest curator Faiyaz Jafri. The screening will take place at 4255 W Colfax Ave., tickets will be available for purchase through the venue in advance of the screening as well as night-of.

Alamo DH Interior w Jafri.jpg



14th & Arapahoe + 14th & California + 15th & Champa LED SCREENS     

SUPERNOVA employs three additional public LED screens of a non-standard format situated in the Denver Theatre District throughout the day for looping animations presented without sound. The Satellite screens are well suited to visually entrancing experimental or ambient works that can sustain viewers attention without necessarily requiring a narrative.



Supernova introduces a network of Community Screen Hosts in 2019, an expansion that will bring the festival’s competition entries and select programming to indoor locations that feature large-scale screens in public facing settings. Four prominent locations have been confirmed for this year’s Supernova, including the Denver Museum of Nature and Science, which employs an exquisite permanent LED screen in their voluminous foyer, and three open markets in the River North Arts District that all feature well-placed screen infrastructures.

Check back for more updates on new developments for the 2019 Festival, including information on an animation lounge tentatively located at NXT STG Gallery located adjacent to the Festival’s main competition screen in the DPAC Galleria, presented in conjunction with SUPERNOVA sponsor CU Denver College of Arts & Media.

Keep informed about updates to the festival via Denver Digerati on Facebook

or sign up for our newsletter at